Repurposed Work Surface for Nail Art

If you’re anything like me- then you hate throwing out your cool wall calendars when the year comes to end!  I usually have several calendars hanging up throughout my house and they’re filled with beautiful pics of animals, landscapes or whatever, and I never have the guts to toss them out.  So I save them to use as a work surface for my nail art!

nail_art_work_surface

I cut the pretty pics into rectangles and keep a stack of them with my nail supplies.

When I need a work surface for nail art I pull one out and it works great to protect my counter.  They’re perfect to slap some polish down on if you plan to do some dots with a dotting tool.

Acrylic paint or nail polish does not soak through the surface since calendars are usually made from thick glossy paper.

The pretty pictures make you smile when you get ready to paint your nails!

This is a silly little tip- but it’s one of the crafty ways that I re-use and recycle! What kind of surface do you lay down when you do nail art?

11 thoughts on “Repurposed Work Surface for Nail Art

  1. What a great idea! I have to confess I very rarely lay anything down when I paint my nails which is why my table suffering. It’s not that I deliberately set out to cover my furniture in polish but I just forget lol! I have a couple of calendars kicking about so I shall start cutting. Thanks for the tip 🙂

  2. smart! thumbs up for that.
    I actually use business cards from former jobs as tools for nail art 😀 to wippe out some excess polish; to put colour for the dotting tool etc etc.

  3. I use aluminum foil, I cut them in medium rectangles. That’s where I mix acrylic paints or put some drops of polish. Then paper towels or bathroom tissue with a piece of old newspaper underneath is where I place my hand when doing my nails, so I could just clean the brush or dotting tool I’m using right away. 😀

  4. Pingback: DIY Glequins… sorta! | Craftynail

  5. Pingback: easy bobby pin nails | Craftynail

  6. Pingback: Saran Wrap Take 2 | The Nailinator

Jacqui loves comments! Feel free to leave one...