The real cost of nail addiction?

Do we really save money by doing our nails at home? That’s the question of the day!

My initial argument is YES, of course we save money!  Why pay a salon when I can do the same thing at home!?

But… (there’s always a big but) now that my DIY nail art addiction has spiraled a teensy bit out of control… I’m really wondering if I spend more dough than someone who goes to a salon a few times per month?!

I have a growing stash of polish, an array of stamping plates, topcoats, treatments, glitters, stickers, and the list goes on.  As I’m sure most of you bloggers do too!  So what do you think?  Are we saving money by applying all these nail products ourselves, or are we spending way more than the average salon patron?

I’d love to hear your thoughts!  And since we all like to looks at pictures… here’s a quick mani I whipped up yesterday morning before I attended a family function- I stamped konad M35 on my tips and topped it off with a glittery topcoat.  Quick and easy- only ten minutes from start to finish.  Hmmm…. so if TIME IS MONEY… maybe we are saving cash then??  What do you think?

10 minute mani - white konad m35 on tips and sparkle topcoat

10 minute mani – white konad m35 on tips and sparkle topcoat

7 thoughts on “The real cost of nail addiction?

  1. I used to rationalize my polish addition this way – plus I find 99% of the time if I have a mani – I don’t like it and know I could have done it better (that is if it’ not nail art). I do little nail art mostly because I don’t have a spot in the tiny cottage I live in to store anything = I have 2 drawers and 1 cupboard in a postage stamp size kitchen. This came out very pretty

  2. I have my nails done for me, roughly every 17 days and it costs me £15. I don’t know how that translates into dollars but I have my nails covered with acrylic before I have them painted – otherwise they would all be short and broken! I probably spend more having them one for me but I’ve tried doing them myself and I just make a horrible mess! To be honest, I can’t even paint my own nails successfully!
    I’ve fallen in love with this blog though and I’ve messaged the link to my faithful nail technician. 🙂

  3. I always feel a little guilty after spending money on a mani! I feel like I can get a better result at home too (on my left hand anyway) and I can be a lot more creative! Plus it is something fun to do while I watch a movie or whatever!

  4. my biggest concern re costs is my health.
    so disreg pro or home mani – I always double-check the lacquers and nailcare products for nasties like formaldehyde. because sometimes they just seem to slip into one colour while another bottle of the same brand goes all big-3-free and stuff. that’s actually my biggest concern. so at home I am SURE to go for health.
    it also saves a ton of time – and I can change the look whenever I feel like. and we all know: time = money! 😀

  5. I like to think that time is money. So, with my hectic work schedule, I hardly ever have time to actually go to the nail salon. Also, the last time I went months ago, she filed them all down to nubs. Totally unfair! I like doing them myself, as it helps me express my creativity. I couldn’t possibly explain how to do my specific nail art to a manicurist. I’m also concerned about the cleanliness of the establishments and the quality of their products. In my home, I know exactly what I’m buying and how often I clean my tools. So, the health payoff is greater. I will admit that I have bought more polishes than I need. But, if I paid $15-30 a pop every time I did a manicure (NYC prices) plus tips, I’m winning by doing my own. Plus, if the polish chips, I can dig in my stash and fix it.

Jacqui loves comments! Feel free to leave one...

