DIY Glequins… sorta!

I’ve seen so many cute nail designs online lately using glequins.  (A glequin is a big piece of glitter that’s kinda like a sequin.)  For some reason I haven’t purchased any yet!  I don’t have a lot of beauty supply stores near me so I’d hafta order them online.  Since that hasn’t happened yet- I decided to make my own!  You can too if you have a polish with kinda big glitter pieces in it!diy_glequins

All you do is simply dab some of your glitter polish onto your work surface (glossy paper works great for this technique).  No- I didn’t dab it on my kitteh’s face- this is a cut up piece of a kitty wall calendar (repurposed work surface post). Then grab a toothpick or dotting tool and fish out some of the big pieces of glitter.  It’s as easy as that!  Sure, you waste a few drops of polish… but now you have a bunch of glequins set aside for your cool nail art ideas!

Check out my glequin creation below!  For this design I painted my nails with 2 coats of China Glaze Westside Warrior which is a nice funky army green.  Then I painted two coats of glitter polish on top called Get Carried Away! by China Glaze (but I kept my ring finger plain in preparation of my glequins!)  Then I painted some clear polish on top of my green nail (to make a sticky surface) and I strategically placed my glequins on top using my dotting tool.  Quick, easy and fun!  get_carried_away_glequin

What a creative way to make good use of your glitter polishes!  Check out your glitter polish stash- you may have a bottle that would be perfect for DIY glequins!  (When Monkeys Fly by OPI comes to mind!)

23 thoughts on “DIY Glequins… sorta!

    • My glitter did not have a clear polish base .. but surprisingly the glitter was pretty clean! Every piece of glitter seemed to have at least one clean side after i was done fiddling with it.
      ps- i tried using regular printer paper and the glitter kinda stuck to it. I think glossy paper like calendars or magazines might work best 🙂

  1. Omg I was so scared that this post was going to be about putting nail polish on cats haha! That’s such a good idea though, I have tons of glitter polishes and no glequins.

  2. Pingback: Masquerade Nails | Craftynail

Jacqui loves comments! Feel free to leave one...

