Glue as a peel-off base coat and for nail art cleanup!

Have you ever tried using white glue for cleanup when painting your nails?  A few months ago I poured some Elmer’s glue into an old nail polish bottle and now I use this stuff all the time!  Isn’t the sticker I put on there cute?  Are you blue? No, I’m GLUE!  That’s what I say to myself every time I reach for this little bottle of glue that I made!
white_glue_for_cleanup
WHAT I USE GLUE FOR: Elmer’s is also called white craft glue or PVC glue and it can be applied around your nail before you start a messy nail art technique. I paint it on all around my nail and then when I’m done with my nail art I simply peel the glue off that surrounds my nail. Any stray polish that would’ve stained my fingers or cuticles just lifts right off with the dried glue… all in one big peel-y piece. It’s kinda fun to peel off and then you don’t need to use nail polish remover to cleanup around your manicure!  It was super helpful for my SUGAR SPUN MANI since all the messy strands of polish peeled right off of my fingers and left my mani looking clean and crisp.

You can also use this glue as a peel-off base coat for hard-to-remove glitter polish! I’ve only tried it once as a peel-off base coat…but I will definitely use it next time I wear glitter. I love how the glue turns clear when it’s dry. Then you know when you’re ready to start painting over top of it. I wish regular base coat did that!

HOW TO MAKE YOUR OWN BOTTLE: It’s easy to make your own bottle of this stuff! I took an empty nail polish bottle… shown here is my old bottle of seche vite topcoat. To clean the empty out you can pour some nail polish remover/acetone into the bottle (maybe a quarter of the way full) and shake rigorously.  Then pour the remover out and check to see how clean the bottle is.  Repeat this step as necessary- you may need to pour remover in one or two more times to get it clean.  Then rinse the bottle with soapy water and leave it overnight to dry. The next day you can squeeze some white glue into the bottle- then you are ready to play!

For extra fun you can cover the bottle with cute stickers like I did. I used Winnie the Pooh stickers on mine!  Are you blue? No, I’m glue!  It makes me smile every time I reach for this cute bottle!

Have you ever tried glue or peel-off base coat?

45 thoughts on “Glue as a peel-off base coat and for nail art cleanup!

  1. That’s cool! I usually use that method when I do gradient nail art with sponge because it’s always messy when you play with sponge. Really2 a helpful way to clean up the mess. But I never thought to put it in the nail polish bottle like that, I always squeeze it right onto my finger. What a great trick to make it easier to apply 😀 Great!

    • Nope, I didn’t dilute it at all. Yeah- i re-did my header using a free template I found online. Wish I remembered the website- because she had a lot of cute headers to choose from!

  2. Pingback: Glue as a peel-off base coat and for nail art cleanup! | Diary Of A Beauty Therapy Student

  3. I knew immediately whose post this was by those awesome rainbow nails! I’m so glad you posted them again I love, love. love them! I use Elmer’s daily straight from the bottle and it’s developing a crust as a result of me not tightening the cap quick enough. So I’ll be adopting your empty Seche bottle trick. Thanks for the tip!

    • That’s so nice, thnx! I don’t mind posting these twice cuz I love them too hehe.
      I get some dried glue crust on the top of my bottle… but it just peels right off without a problem 🙂

  4. That sticker is so cute! I’ve used glue as a base coat before, but I haven’t heard of using it to protect the fingers. I’ll definitely have to give that a try next time I do something messy. Have you ever had the glue (as a base coat) not want to peel off in one piece before? It usually works fine for me, but every once in a while it doesn’t want to peel and I have to pick/scrape off little bits at a time.

    • I used cheapo white glue (the kind kids use) from the dollar store!
      If you are using it for cleanup I just recommend not getting it on your nail. Last time I put it all over my cuticles and got some on my nail… Then when I painted my nails I guess I put polish over top of the glue on my nailbed. And when I peeled it off it tried to pull some of the polish off from the corners of my nail (you can see that a lil bit in my rainbow nail pics). But if you keep it solely on your cuticles and skin- it works great!!!

  5. Ok, stupid question time!! I remember having this issue when I was a teenager and would empty out a bottle and try to clean it with nail polish remover/acetone…the brush always gets all weird! Did this happen to you? Once it is in the glue, does it magically become normal again? Am I the only one that this happens to?? 🙂 Thank you for posting this, I’m going to try it out, but I need to get the brush situation fixed!

      • Hmm..I never thought that it was the bristles. I was using a Sally Hansen basecoat, the bristles are clear, not sure what they are made out of, but it’s almost like the nail polish remover is melting the bristles! Lol and while I do have a seche bottle, it’s nowhere near empty. I guess I could just buy an empty bottle! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Day 17 of OMD Challenge- 3D Effects Gradient | Craftynail

  7. I saw something about PVC glue and googled it. Thankfully it pulled up your post. I stopped wearing glitter polish due the difficulty of getting it off now I can wear it again 🙂 I have always had kinda oily skin its not noticeable but my nail polish never sticks to my skin for more than about an hour.

  8. Pingback: Essence Peel Off Base Coat – Review | Craftynail

  9. I have never tried using glue, but now I think I have to! (Heehee. That rhymned.) 😜 So you don’t add anything to the glue? I thought I saw somewhere about mixing water into it.

    • yeah some people add water, but I didn’t. mine dries kinda slow though… but at least you can tell when it’s dry. i wonder if the water thins it and makes it dry faster?

Jacqui loves comments! Feel free to leave one...

