Earth-Toned Fishtail Nails

fishtail_braid_nailsIt’s day 12 of the 30 Day Nail Art Challenge and the theme is fishtail braid.  I’m psyched to finally get a chance to try out this nail art technique!  Since I’ve never tried fishtail before I practiced a little bit before jumping in.  The hard part was finding:

  • opaque colors that only need one coat
  • polishes that had a small(ish) applicator brush since pro-wide brushes didn’t seem to work well for this design
  • last but not least, finding coordinating colors!

earth_toned_fishtail_nailsI used Top Coat It’s tutorial and I practiced with some different polishes until I got the technique down.  Most fishtail designs that I’ve seen use 3 colors and I chose the following:

Charming Charlie Penny Lane

Sephora by OPI I Think I Cayenne

Sephora by OPI S-Age is Just a Number

I also applied 2 topcoats at the end to try to smooth out the overlapping brushstrokes.  The surface still looked kinda uneven to me though.

brown_fishtail_nail_art

I like the warm color combo, even though it feels kind of unseasonal for this time of year!  But I really wanted to incorporate my Charming Charlie polish (that’s the darkest shade in my photos).  I’m almost positive this shade is called Penny Lane, but I can’t confirm it since I lost the bottle.  I just used it 15 minutes ago so I have no idea where it could be hiding!  So have any of you been to a Charming Charlie retail store before?  I never heard of this chain until I stumbled upon one of their stores in Florida.  And I was like WOW!  It’s like a Claire’s Boutique for grown-up ladies!  It was jam-packed with affordable necklaces, accessories and even nail polish- so of course I had to buy one.  Penny Lane is a beautiful deep coppery shimmer and I hope you like it in my fishtail braid design!  You can see the other participants’ designs here.

32 thoughts on “Earth-Toned Fishtail Nails

  1. Pingback: S&S 30 Day Challenge: Fishtail Braid | Pocket Money Polishes

  2. Such a beautiful colour combination! And you’ve managed to get your fishtail design dead centre, the middle of my braids are all slightly to the left or right.

  3. OMG charming charlie is like crack. I love just love how everything is color coordinate. i can pick out a outfit decide what jewelry color I want and just walk to that section and pick it out.

Jacqui loves comments! Feel free to leave one...

